Loving Church

I felt like the readings this week really spoke to me. After hearing some troubling news from my husband last night, it was like God was speaking to me this morning.

In the first reading (1 Kings 19:4-8) Elijah quickly lost sight of all that God had given him and was focusing on all of the negative things that had happened to him. Like Elijah, I often find myself focusing on the difficulties in my life rather than all of the wonderful blessings that have been bestowed upon me. I often feel overwhelmed with the little things in life and am short-sighted and I don’t look at the big picture. It is easy to fall into this trap. The deacon (I was visiting my mom’s church today) had a great message…he spoke about how if you are always focused on the negative aspects of your life you are not able to see what the day/future really holds for you. When you are so busy building arguments against God it is hard to find the time or the energy to build arguments for God.

The gospel (John 6:41-51) was about Jesus being the bread of life and offering himself to us today. The deacon talked today about the strength of God and opening ourselves up to receive the grace that God is offering to us. We need to be more like Mary, the Mother of God, whom dropped everything and said “yes!” when God called here. She did not give an excuse as to why she was too busy, tired, or overwhelmed to accept the call. She just did it. So, today, and everyday we need to execute our faith and push away our burdens to extend ourselves to the one who loved us so much he gave us His Son.

Everyday, I have the opportunity to extend my faith to the world around me. It is my calling as a Christ-centered woman. This week I am going to try and focus on all of the wonderful blessings in my life instead of grumbling about the little things.

Leave a Reply

