What We Ate

I read a lot of blogs and I am always interested in what people eat themselves and what they feed their children. I am by no means a gourmet cook. I do like to try new things and I am always looking for recipes to try. By nature I am a rule follower, so I tend to stick with the exact recipe and not stray from the directions.
I also try and feed Megan and Tyler a nice breakfast every morning (now, on the weekends). I feel like if we start the day on the right foot nutritionally, then all is not lost.

Today they had heart-smart waffles, Greek yogurt and fruit.

20120825-080458.jpg

And they really seemed to like it!

20120825-080606.jpg
Look at those smiling faces…they must really love their mommy!

I also like to start the day with a good breakfast. As you may or may not have gathered, I am trying (desperately) to lose weight. So, I like to start the day with a protein-packed breakfast to get me through the day.

20120825-080826.jpg

looks like crap, tastes delicious

Today was an onion, olive, and spinach omelette with 2 eggs and a cup of Chai Honey Vanilla Tea on the side. Delicious and nutritious! Tyler also loves this…he ate about half, screaming “a bite! a bite! a bite!” after every taste!

As I was cooking and cleaning I thought about something…I think there are two types of cooks in the world. One who cleans as she goes and one who leaves the mess until the end. I am a clean as you go kid of cook. I hate a mess, so I cannot really relax and eat until everything is cleaned and put away. This sometimes leaves me with a cold plate, but I am fine with that. In fact, I think this is why microwaves were invented!

So the question of the day is this:
Are you a clean as you go kind of person or a clean after you are finished kind of person?

Have a great Saturday!

One thought on “What We Ate

Leave a Reply

