Dare I Say it

I think Megan might be officially potty trained. She went both in Walmart and Frishes in the last two days. If that isn’t a good indication of success, I am not sure what is.

It has been a long hot summer of trying to get my stubborn little princess to understand the whole potty thing. She will be three in two weeks and my goal has really been to have her trained by that mark. I am not one to compare my kids to others, but I was starting to feel a little bit desperate in this department. I am so proud of her. I am thrilled to be called “mommy” by her and Tyler.

This is one of this moments when I look at my life and think I could never imagine this is where I would be right now. Five years ago I was desperate to have a baby and I watched as friend after friend announced they were pregnant. I can’t even count the number of baby showers I hosted and attended. I was so happy for all of my girls and laughed and cried with them through nine months. But, I was silently in misery. I often questioned why God had done this to me. I kept searching for answers that never came month after month.

In January of 2009 I had just celebrated the new year with many of my favorite people. I toasted at midnight and secreted wished for a baby in 2009. Ironically, three days later I was officially “late” and took a pregnancy test knowing it was going to be negative. But, sure enough, it was positive. Megan made me a mother and I will forever be grateful for that. She has brought so much to my life that I would have never been able to image nor can I explain in words. I love her more and more with each passing day. Megan is pure, unadulterated joy and I am blessed to be hers.

So maybe potty training is just the beginning of all the milestones I will celebrate with Megan over the course of her life. But I can’t help but shed a tear at the thought of my little miracle baby turning into a little girl right before my eyes.

20120831-143753.jpg

Leave a Reply

