Loving Church

Yesterday I had a wonderful morning going to my mom’s church. It was a great way to start the day, a gorgeous day I might add. We have hard a miserable summer (so hot!) which has brought us the most perfect fall. I spent more time ooutside this weekend than inside, and for that I am extremely thankful.

I have been going through a hard time. Nothing that I want to share on here just yet, but if you happen to come accross this blog and you are the praying type, I would like some prayers. Well, I do not necessarily need the prayers, but someone in my life does. So, pray for me and I will pray for this person and then a month from now I will tell you how awesome our God really is!

Anyway, that was a long entrance to what I want to talk about. I am going to focus on the Gospel of Mark today (Mark 8:27-38). If you study scripture at all, you already know that the Gospel of Mark focuses on the image of Jesus being a suffering servant. The priest today was a guest from Africa. His message was great and his mission was so interesting. I am always humbled by people who give up everything to follow the mission of Christ. I have done mission work in the past, but I gave up a day, a week or a summer, not my entire life.

Father John spoke about Jesus being our suffering Messiah. What a concept ~ our God is a suffering God. He felt pain, just a we do. He had friends betray him, just as we do. He suffered the ultimate, horrible, painful death in order to heal our transgressions and save us from our sins. God chose to come to our earth and spread His message in the most grity way possible. Although he was not flawed, he welcomed the sinners and the prisioners, and the marginalized in our society.

I guess the phrase “misery loves company” can be applied to our God as well. In verse 34 Jesus said, “If any want to become my followers, let them deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.” Life is hard. Not everything is going to easy or comfortable. We will have to go through pain in life.

This message could not have come at a better time. I have pain and I have suffered, my suffering is real and my heartache, while managable, has been a tough pill to swallow. Sometimes I am overwhhelmed by the hurt in my life. I take comfort in knowing that my God suffers with me and feels my pain. By His wounds we are healed.

This week I am going to count my blessings. First and foremost I am thankful for a loving God that I can turn to in times of suffering.

 

Have a great week!

3 thoughts on “Loving Church

Leave a Reply

