Loving Church

Well, we didn’t make it. I should be honest, I didn’t really try. My husband was out of town and me and the kids were out of town and we were meeting up and it just did not happen. We do not miss church often. In fact, I think I can count on one hand how many times I have missed in the last two years.

Since I did not make it to church and I was not in the mood to look up the readings myself I think I will talk about my favorite scripture verse of all time. Jeremiah 29:11. “For I know well the plans I have in mind for you, plans for welfare, not woe; plans to bring you a future full of hope!”

I first learned this verse on retreat in 1992. It was hanging on the bulletin board at the retreat center and every time I walked by it I read it. At the end of the week I wrote it down and stuck the sheet of paper in my bible. I brought it out often and finally one day I did not need the sheet of paper anymore. This verse really resonates with me. I think of this verse often and you could say it is a mantra for me. It is always in the back of my mind and the tip of my tongue.

It is comforting to know that God does, indeed, have a plan for me. I am loved and have the ability to love even if I am not open to it on that particular day. God only wants good in my life. When bad things happen I try to see it as an opportunity to witness God’s grace. This is not an easy feat. It is human nature to blame God for all the wrongs in our life. So often I find myself searching for meaning and turn to God with negativity and spite…saying things life, “God, why did you do this to me?” This how I spent a lot of time in my twenties. But, as I have grown-up I have also accepted the fact that bad things happen. Period. And I can use these hard times to better myself or to dwell in the darkness. I choose the light.

Sometimes you just need to give yourself a break and give it up to God. Isn’t nice to have someone else make the plans every once in a while?

20121001-080717.jpg
happiness in pigtails!

Leave a Reply

