I am a Teacher

I am a teacher in a Catholic school. I am sure anyone who reads this could have gathered that but I feel like I need to state the obvious. For the past two days I was honored to be in the presence of our Arch-Bishop, Most Reverend Dennis Schnurr and our Bishop, Reverend Joseph Binzer. I believe both of these men are not only extremely holy, but personable and smart as well. I sat through many keynote addresses in the last two days, some were very enlightening and some were just okay, but I left the conference feeling like I made the right career choice and, better yet, I have chosen a vocation which I have been called to do. I love being Catholic. I am proud of my religion and I feel blessed that everyday I can teach my students not only academic excellence, it the foundation for a strong, genuine faith in God.

20121003-191404.jpg
Most Reverend Schnurr in action!

Teacher’s are lucky. Everyday we have the opportunity to make a difference in the life of youth. We are blessed in that it is not just a job for us…it is a lifestyle, a way to live, and a distinct privilege. I know not every teacher feels this way. In my own life there are days when I wonder what the heck I am doing…I could make double the salary sitting in a cubicle punching numbers. But, those days are really few and far between. When someone asks me what I do for a living I am proud to say that I am a teacher. I am even more proud to say that I serve in a Catholic school where my students are my kids, my co-workers are my friends, and my boss is amazing.

Leave a Reply

