October Goal Recap

I made three goals for myself in October. They were:
October Goals:
1. Continue to make it to the gym as much as possible.
2. Give at least 5 hours of volunteering.
3. Stay in my calorie goals each day.

I am happy to report that all my goals have been met for October and then some! It really has been a month of ups and downs, but I came out of it on an up! I am pleased to report that my fitness and calorie goals paid off. I am down almost 20 pounds since I started this journey in the beginning of August. I must say it is coming off a lot slower than I had anticipated, but I will take it. I am no spring chicken, so each pound counts!

I also spent about 8 hours doing volunteer work. I wrote about my day at the Free Store FoodBank here. It was such a great day and I plan on going back before Thanksgiving to help again.

Volunteering at our church nursery has been more of a challenge. I spent a lot of time this past month creating charts and mass e-mails and bulletin announcements. I worked I. The nursery cleaning all of the toys, reorganizing, and setting up. I even volunteered two Sunday’s during mass. I feel like I did everything I could to make the program a success. I have discovered a couple of things…first and foremost, people want to drop their children off in the nursery, but they do not want to volunteer themselves. This is problematic because it is a co-op and will not work ifi do not have volunteers. Secondly, many people say they will commit to something, but when push comes to shove they do not follow through.

I know it is going to take more than a month to build a program, but I at least thought I would have one quality volunteer by now. I will keep working. I have told myself I would give it a year, and I will.

My goal for November is all about the blog. I am going to focus on writing everyday and I am going to work on making the blog more user-friendly and fun to look at. Ian not computer genius, so we will see how it goes.

And, I am also going to work to lose 10 more pounds by the new year. That is going t be a hard one, but I think I can do it!

One thought on “October Goal Recap

Leave a Reply

