Overworked and Underpaid

Sometimes I feel like I am just a cook, a maid and a nanny.  I want a clean house, I want to make delicious good, healthy dinners, I want to spend quality time with my kids.  I want all of these things, but I generally fail miserably on one count or another.  I get very irritated and short when my expectations are not met.  I want to scream, to run away, or to just go to bed and pull the covers over my head.

I love my husband, but we do not share the same philosophy about how our house should look.  He is more on the side of, “who cares, no one is coming over and who is going to see?”  Where I get completely irrational about dishes in the sink, laundry not folded, and toys everywhere.  I have settled my irrationality A TON since we were first married.  But, every once in a while I just get so annoyed.

The worst part about my annoyance is that I pretty much suffer in silence.  I don’t make a big deal out of things because I want to keep the peace.  Don’t get me wrong, we communicate, often…but I don’t want my hubby to feel bad for my own idiosyncracies.  It is not his fault that he married a maniac!

So, I will go back to folding the laundry and tucking the kids into bed, because that is what I do.  I love doing those things.  At the end of the day, I feel very blessed.  I know doing things for people is my love language.  But, every once in a while I would like a surprise visit from Molly Maids.  Of course, they will probably not meet my expectations either. HA!

 

 

One thought on “Overworked and Underpaid

Leave a Reply

