Dessert and More!

Thanksgiving was a great day. It was especially awesome because I really did not have to cook! My mother-in-law does not like a ton of help when it comes to her meal planning. She always asks us to bring something, but it is never anything too difficult. I usually am asked to bring some sort of dessert.

This year I wanted to try something new instead of the same old same old. I usually bring either chocolate chip cookies, cake balls, or buckeyes. Yesterday, I tried making salted caramel bars which were supposed to taste like Twix bars. I found it on this blog which was from a link up on “Show us Your Life” on Kelly’s Korner.

Here is a picture of how mine turned out:

20121123-193158.jpg

They were a big hit at our family gathering. They did taste like a VERY RICH Twix bar. I thought that they would be very tough and time consuming to make, but it turned out to be a fairy easy, straight-forward recipe. I am sure I will be making them again…possibly for a Christmas cookie exchange this year because they travelled very well.

In other news, my kids looked adorable but felt kind of terrible all night. Megan is running a high fever and they both have coughs. I hate when they are sick. It is pathetic. But, their behavior was awesome yesterday and it got me really excited for the Christmas holiday. This is going to be such a fun few weeks until the big day!!!

I will leave you with a cute pic of Meg and Ty just being over-all precious at the party yesterday. I will be back tomorrow with a Black Friday recap. Spoiler Alert…we really got nothing bought for anyone but ourselves!

20121123-193704.jpg

Leave a Reply

