Walking the Walk

Back to the basics for me today.

It is funny how great vacations are but how much I crave the mormalcy of everyday life. This might have been one of the best Thanksgiving weekends I have ever had. There was a lot less running around this year than in years past. I am not sure if it is because everyone in our house was feeling a tad bit under the weather or the fact that we are just more and more content staying home with each other. In either case, I am happy. Like really, really happy. I am happier today than I have been in the last six months.

At school today I spent a lot of time with my students talking about expectations. I have high expectations for all of my students. I believe that everyone is capable of achieving a goal if they really set their mind to it. I know that if you give posivitve self-talk any task can be completed well. Life is not a dress rehearsal…what we put out brings direct divends of the outcome. Basically, if you give a lack-luster effort, your outcome will most likely be less than desirable.

I have been talking a lot about losing weight and getting healthy. I spend a lot of time at the gym. But, I really spent time this weekend looking at how I am approaching weight loss. Am I going at it full force, or do I just talk the talk instead of walk the walk? Do I give the same effort I give at the gym to my eating habits? Am I working on being a “clean” eater or do I just go through the motions?

The answer, obviously, is that I can do better. I can set high expectations of myself. If I really want to lose the weight, then I need to walk the walk instead of just talk the talk (pun intended!). As soon as I can get rid of is miserable cough that I have had for three weeks I am ready do some serious changes to my eating and work- outs. I have started devising a plan that is difficult yet attainable. There is no reason why I cannot lose another ten pounds by the end of the year. Then, in January I will re-evaluate and make even bigger changes.

For now, I will leave you with a cute pc that Megan colored for. I “her” iPad. HA!

20121126-183249.jpg

Leave a Reply

