Filling the Bucket

I am still at the hospital…helping to nurse my mom back to health. I was surprised this morning at how well she is doing. She has had zero pain medications since coming out of surgery last night. She is a trooper, I tell you, a real trooper. Hopefully if things go well today she will be on. Her way home either this evening or tomorrow morning.

I have been reading a bunch of books lately on positivity and how to change your outlook in order to make the world a better place. I think at times we all fall into the negativity trap. It is easier to snap back at people or become angry at sales people or people waiting in line or bad drivers or annoying co-workers or really anyone. I know I have had my fair share of “Negative Nancy” moments in the last few months. And it makes me feel terrible. And it makes the recipient of my negativity feel terrible too.

One of the best books I have read on this topic is by Tom Rath and it is called How Full is Your Bucket?. I read this book yesterday and could not put it down (yes, I am a nerd, I read an entire book in one sitting…I had a lot of time my hands). This was just the book I had been looking for! The basis of the book is to start “judging” yourself by how much positivity you give out. Are you a bucket filler or a dipper? If you spend too much time dipping and not enough time filling you need to re-evaluate how you are living your life. I highly recommend this book. You can purchase it here.

In the coming weeks I am going to narrow down a list of things I want to work on in 2013. I know that being a bucket filler is going to make the list!

And, since I am feeling very nostalgic and missing my kids terribly today, I thought I would share a picture (or three!) of them from last Christmas. Tyler was not yet a year old and he had brown hair!!!! What a difference a year makes!

20121214-112409.jpg My baby under a tree!

20121214-112734.jpg In her princess dress

20121214-112628.jpg Matching PJs…I die! Oh, and that is Tyler’s gift she is hoarding…some things never change!

Leave a Reply

