Dress the Part

Today I ordered a bunch of work-out clothes from Old Navy.

20130104-171227.jpg
I was going to wait for my ten pound loss reward to buy any new work out clothes, but the deals were so great right now I just had to do it. I love Old Navy for active wear and most of the items I purchased were covered by gift cards that I received over Christmas. I will be waiting to wear any of these new duds until I have lost 10 pounds.

I am one of those people that really believes that if you look the part you feel better about doing
almost anything. For instance, if I put on a nice skirt, tights, cashmere sweater, and pearls I feel more professional and, therefore, have a better day teaching. The same goes for working out. If I have “cool” looking work out gear I feel better when I am at the gym and tend to work out a little harder that day. It’s really like a self-fulfilling prophecy. I learned this lesson a long time ago when my 6th grade teacher answered the age old question “why do we wear uniforms?” in my class. I have never forgotten that. When I am feeling overly tired or insecure or just not that into something I always dress up and my mood perks up and life does not seem so hard.

This weekend I am hoping to spend a lot of time with my family. We really have NO PLANS which is sort of sweet. We may have a few people over tomorrow afternoon to watch the Bengals against the Texans. On Sunday is the Confirmation Candidacy Mass so I will be speaking at mass on behalf of the 8th graders I teach. Other than that we are free. I know I will be getting at least one work out in.

What are your plans for the weekend? Do you have any opinions about clothing and dressing the part?

Leave a Reply

