A Great Weekend

Look what came over the weekend…

20130114-184126.jpg
I am super excited about my Old Navy purchases, but not so excited that I have to wait until I lose 8.4 more pounds until I can open the box. Such is life. I am still feeling good and motivated to make my goals happen so I am going to stay positive and hope that I will be able to open the box in the next few weeks.

In other news, I had a wonderful lunch with a dear friend over the weekend (hello, Susan!). It always amazes me how much love I have for my girlfriends. I always leave feeling better than when I came and it is a great feeling. We are in very similar stages in life and it is so nice to just sit and talk about anything and everything uninterrupted. I don’t have much alone time and I never take this time for granted.
We ate at an amazing place in which I took no pictures and cannot remember the name. But I had a delicious flight of wines and a delectable sampling of appetizers. I ate things that I have never tried before (hello, pork belly nachos!) and I felt very swanky and grown up!

My weekend also involved visiting with my mom and brother. My mom is feeling much better and getting stronger day by day. She is always so positive and I absolutely love being in her presence. We spent a lot of time playing with the kids and hanging out and shopping and doing all the things we love to do together. When I don’t see my mom for a couple of weeks I miss her. I am so blessed to have her in my life. My brother throws my kids around like they are rag dolls and I love it. It is hilarious to watch and the look on their faces is priceless. They love their uncle and I love that. I always wanted my kids to be close to my brother and they are! Happiness.

Finally, after a much delayed car ride home (accident 10 miles from my house = 1 hour of additional driving on back roads in the dark while it was raining…fun…not!) I came home to a very clean and organized garage. Shawn did a garage make-over and I am in love (with him and my garage!). He has really been a worker-bee of late and I am loving it. I have reaped the benefits of several small projects over the last few weeks.

Alas, I am sad that Shawn is going back to working 2nd shift this week. Not that I can’t do things on my own in the evenings, but I will miss him. As I have said before, we are in a good season of our relationship and really enjoying each other. I am going to miss hanging out with him in the evening and just talking. I love being with my husband. While I will not say that our relationship has always been easy, it has always been worth it. To me, that is what marriage is all about…the journey…through ups and downs, good times and bad times, there is no one that I could ever see myself being with besides him.

I am going to make it an awesome week, are you?

Leave a Reply

