Cleaning the Oven: Lesson Learned

Last night I spent several hours cleaning my oven.
I know, fun, right?

My oven was gross.  In fact, I hated using it because it smelled like burning something every time I turned it on.  This is no one’s fault but my own as the oven was brand new when we moved in and I have just neglected it for a long time.  Every time I would make an effort to clean it I would come up with some sort of excuse to put the task off.  In fact, I was sort of waiting for someone else to do it for me (aka, my mom) and just got really lazy about the whole thing.  Finally, I became so annoyed with my own procrastination I just did it.

And you know what?  It wasn’t so bad.  In fact, it was one of the easiest tasks I have ever done.  The self-cleaning feature actually worked (who knew?) and I only had to sit and wait the four hours until it needed to be shut off.  Then, this morning I took a mere five minutes and wiped it out with a Clorox Wipe and then a dry paper towel.

My oven could be a metaphor for my life.  I spend so much time talking myself out of things and thinking things are too hard for me to accomplish or whatever that I waste the precious time that I have.  I make up excuses for things that I really know nothing about and never really take the first step in doing.

I want to be a runner.  I want to be a person who other people look to as an athlete.  But, I spend a lot of time in negative self-talk.  I tell myself I am too out of shape and fat to run.  I make excuses to skip work-outs.  I make unhealthy food choices.  Basically, I sabotage myself.  ALL.THE.TIME.

But this time, this time I FEEL differently.  I am not going to be scared to take the plunge.  I am going full-force with my work-outs and eating.  Even with low results on the scale I still understand that doing something is better than nothing.  I am not going to fear the unknown (hello, taking a WEIGHT LIFTING one on one class next week!) and I am going to embrace this new lifestyle I have chosen for myself.

I feel good great, amazing, happy!  I really want to enjoy this journey and I want to be on this journey for the rest of my life.  No more excuses, no more procrastination, no more putting it off.  I am a changing, and it feels fantastic.

Also, because I only have two work-out tops and bottoms I have decided to cut myself some slack and bust out the Old Navy box this weekend.  My updated reward for a 10 pound loss is a new dry-fit shirt.  And I am happy about it because it is my life and my reward system and my blog.  HA!

Leave a Reply

