Detox…It Ain’t Pretty

Friends. I have been experiencing some major symptoms for the past couple of days. Sweats, shakes, horrific headaches topped off by vomiting last night. At first I thought it was a bit of the stomach flu, but after further research (think, Liz, think!) I realized I am in the throws of detoxing from my former life into my new life…and it is not pretty.

You see, my addiction to food is much Iike an alcoholic’s addiction to alcohol or a drug addict’s addiction to their drug of choice. Food is my drug. I use it for comfort when I am lonely, to stuff pain away when I am sad, to celebrate the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat. Food is one of my closest friends, my love. Food addiction is a sick, sick disease. It is hard to wrap my head around it. It is a daily struggle and it is constantly on my mind. I wish it were different, but it is not. Hello, my name is Elizabeth and I am a food addict.

20130606-084517.jpg
no brush, no make-up, no problem

Not only have I stepped up my exercise and really controlled my eating starting on Tuesday morning, but I have also cut back on my precious love, caffeine. I started this journey (again!) with a clear head and a lot of self-based research. I see a direct correlation between caffeine consumption and over eating. I know that when I drink pop I tend to eat more at meals and during snack time. For years I have been rationalizing my love for diet soda by saying, “there is no sugar in it…it is a win!” when in reality it is really a means of feeding the beast. I am not giving up Cherry Coke Zero forever, but I am giving it up during this detox week. And it is a bitch.

Carbohydrates are also a vice of mine. This girls loves me some bread, pasta, cake, sugar, sugar, sugar. The problem with carbs is that I can eat and eat and eat and eat them ALL.DAY.LONG.The end.

Giving up carbs totally via the Adkins way would not work for me. When I deprive myself totally of things I get resentful and start eating other things to overcompensate. Not good. Instead, I am being very mindful of what carbs I am eating and especially how much. I am trying to cut back to the normal range of 200-300 grams daily, whereas I was eating probably close to 1000g a day. I will say in just two short days of lowering my carb intake I can feel a difference in my energy level.

I am hoping the detox came to a climax last night while I was shaking, puking, sweating, and crying simultaneously after putting the kids to bed. I know this journey will not be easy, but it will
be worth it. I also know that I am not in this alone. I need to ask for help. I need to face my addiction and pinpoint where and when I start to slide and STOP IT. That is always my problem. I have a hard time recognizing the downward spiral when it starts and cannot overcome it and get out once I am in the thick of it.

There you have it. Detox 101. It sucks.

2 thoughts on “Detox…It Ain’t Pretty

Leave a Reply

