Lessons from Father’s Day

It has been 974 days since I lost my father to cancer. I have thought about him every one of those days, multiple times a day. There are so many times that I still want to pick up the phone and call him. He was the first person I always called with anything in my adult life. He always listened, I mean, really listened. It can be for something silly or something sad or just to hear his voice. I think his voice is what I miss the most.

Father’s Day is always the worst holiday for me to get through. I try to keep positive for my kids and my husband, they deserve a great day. But, on the inside I am ripped to shreds. I miss my dad. When he died, a part if me died as well. He was the greatest man I ever knew. He taught me how to ride a bike and drive a car…but his lessons about enjoying life’s journey are the ones I like to keep in my back pocket. He loved hard, he worked hard, he played hard and he lived life not as a dress rehearsal. He was a good great man.

This Father’s Day I celebrated my family, and I loved spending the day with the four most important people in my life. I laughed, I cried.

I miss my dad. I love my dad. I want him to be proud of me and the legacy that I have continued.

20130616-223756.jpg

3 thoughts on “Lessons from Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

