Monday Happenings

Another great weekend is in the books. I know being off all summer means everyday is like a weekend day, but it is different when Shawn is working during the week…weekends are really for family time.

This weekend was packed with smiles but also a bit of sadness. We spent time hanging with friends and going to our church festival which is always a blast. It is so nice to see my students and their parents in a relaxed setting. Megan and Tyler loved the rides and the games and just being the center of attention with everyone. I don’t know about you, but growing up church festivals were not a “thing” in my town, but in Cincinnati they are big, like really big. I had to reel in my obsessiveness and just put the kids on the scary carnival rides. In the end, Shawn was more nervous about it then I was!

The dad of one of Shawn’s friends died on Friday night. He had suffered cancer for a while. We went to the wake yesterday and will be attending the funeral today. This is the second funeral I have attended of a friend’s father who has lost his life to cancer since my dad died. It is hard because I know exactly what they are going through and even more so, I know what the years to come bring. It is rough.

The circle of life, I tell you, sometimes is is awesome, but sometimes it sucks.

In other news, I went 936 calories over my goal for Saturday. Not good. Even when I am on great swing I still have setbacks. I am human, I have to accept the choices I make and own them and move on.

It was a hard week for me on the diet/exercise front because my mom was here. Not that she is a bad influence, but I am a creature of habit and it is hard when my schedule gets messed up . I will say we did a ton of active things with the kids…things that a few months ago I would have skipped because it would have been too much walking, too hot, excuses, excuses, excuses.

I am ready for this week…we will be knee deep in getting organized for our BIG VACATION which we leave for on Friday. So exciting!!!!! I post coming this week about where we are venturing and what we are going to do.

Shout out to one of my second mamas…My BFF’s mom who is having hip replacement today. Pat, you will be in my prayers and hopefully the prayers of some of my Internet friends too!!!

here are some pictures from last week…if you are local to Cincinnati, Sawyer Point and The Cincinnati Children’s Museum are great options if you’re looking for something a little different to do!

20130624-084743.jpg

20130624-084756.jpg

20130624-084811.jpg

20130624-084828.jpg

20130624-084839.jpg

20130624-084849.jpg

Leave a Reply

