A Dynamic Life

Today I had the pleasure of going to work. Yes, you heard me right.

It was our back to school teacher in-service and I was thrilled to sit in a meeting for 4.5 hours.

The reason I was so excited was because I was privileged enough to sit in an audience where Matthew Kelly was speaking. For those of you who do not know who he is, you can read more about him here. But, I will say a few things…Mr. Kelly has written several books (14 I think) about Catholicism and how to not only be the best Catholic you can be, but the holy person that God has intended you to be.

I was absolutely sucked in by his message today.

Am I living an extra-ordinary life, or am I just “phoning it in” on most days? Do I live with passion and purpose or am I disengaged most of the time?

These questions really hit me. So often in my life I am living for the next big thing instead of enjoying the journey and the present. I go to the gym but I don’t push myself, I eat healthy but at the end of the day I indulge, I can’t wait until the end of the day when I can have some alone time rather than enjoying the day. I take my family and my friends for granted. Life would be better if I just…you get my drift.

At times I do not show my husband the best version of me.

Today during his talk it really resonated with me that I need to be 100% engaged in my life. I need to take the good, the bad, and the ugly and understand that the work I do today is good work and worth the effort I put forth. I need to work on my personal relationship with God in order to transform my students over the course of this year.

I need to be more holy in all aspects of my life. From my job, to being a wife, to being a mother. It is time that I live my life with greatness. There is a world around me that I need to be present in.
If you are Catholic, or were Catholic, or a thinking about becoming Catholic, or just yearning for something in your life beyond the secular world, I would encourage you to read the book, Rediscover Catholicism. You can get it for FREE here.

Deep stuff for a Monday. Feels good.

Leave a Reply

