A Crisis

We have been going through a significant health crisis with Megan over the past 6 weeks. It was significant enough that yesterday we had to put her under anesthetic in order to get a CT Scan of her chest.

I got a call this morning with a very positive outcome.

Now, I can breathe…and possibly sleep.

All of this has made me put a lot of things in perspective. Some of this has made me question decisions I have made as a mother. Mostly, I am just so happy that I can put it behind me. I do believe in God. I know God was with me during this crisis. I felt his arms around me in a very real way.

One of the things I cannot shake is the absolute piss-poor care our primary pediatrician gave us during this time of need. We have seen many different doctors in the practice several times over the past few weeks and I have been crushed in the fact that they have not communicated with each other, do not read my child’s chart before entering the room, and have very few answers to any of my questions. They are also not very caring, compassionate, or friendly. Needless to say, I am going to be researching new practices now. I just can’t go through another time with this group.

On a better note, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital has been awesome. I have loved the care we received and felt they really had Megan’s best interests in mind. Yesterday, I felt like a part of their family as they walked us through everything that was about to happen. They made me feel supported in a time that I was very unsteady.

I will do anything for my children. I will always be their advocate for the rest of their lives. I am so happy Megan is healthy. Thank God.

20130926-190500.jpg

Leave a Reply

