You Can’t Please Everyone

You can’t please everyone…

I have been thinking about that statement a lot lately. My whole life I have felt like I was pulled in many different directions. Mostly it has been self-imposed because I am a “yes” person, but more recently I have let the reactions of other people rule my mood; and I don’t like it.

This weekend someone said something very nasty about me behind my back, to my mom. Specifically, it was about my weight and how every time she sees me my clothes look tighter and tighter.
And when it was repeated to me I was very hurt by the comment. In fact, I almost cried about it.

Then I thought to myself, who is this person to judge me? In fact, I have lost 20 pounds since August. And I am working out daily. And I am feeling good. Am I really going to let someone control my emotions and how I feel about myself?
And, so I got over it.

My mom may never get over it.

I also have a problem with letting people’s reactions get the best of me. I try my best to include everyone and to make people feel welcome and appreciated. I don’t live in the same city as many of my family and friends do, so when I have something going on not everyone can come. I am no longer going to feel bad about that. I am going to live the life that I am craving for me and for my family. I cannot control how other people feel about me.

In better news…
I have been purging my house room by room. It has been awesome. Shawn added to the fun this weekend by cleaning out his clothes in the closet. I am proud of him…that is not something he likes to do, but he did it and I know he felt good about it when he was finished. I have two small projects left (guest room closet and Megan’s closet) and then it is on to the garage and the basement which might take all winter, but I am going to do it. By spring I want to move on to our first large project since moving into our home. We are going to re-decorate the living room which includes new flooring, new paint, new wiring, new furniture and possibly a built in. WOW writing that down makes it seem like a huge undertaking. Young House Love I am not J

Anyways, I feel better getting all of that off my chest. I am looking forward to a fabulous week. After all, Halloween is one of my favorite holidays!

20131028-164046.jpg

3 thoughts on “You Can’t Please Everyone

  1. Susan says:

    I’m so pi$$ed right now. I think I saw this conversation take place because I saw your moms whole demeanor change. This is so upsetting!!!

    There are enough people that don’t know us that judge us and make us feel bad we don’t need people inside our circle judging us.

    Good job saying it and moving on. You are more beautiful then ever!!!!!

    I’m ready to scrap!!!!!

    Xoxo

Leave a Reply

