Weekend Update…Operation Dodge Cabin Fever

Well, it continues to be the weekend here in Loveland, OH. Yes, you guessed it…another SNOW DAY! I have mixed feelings about it because there is so much to do at school, but I am thrilled to spend another day with my little munchkins. Megan woke up in the middle of the night with a horrible cough and awkward breathing (we almost got dressed to go the ER) so it was nice to have a bit of time to sleep in this morning too. Don’t worry, Miss M is fine this morning. I think she just has a head cold.

Thisweekend was a mix of a lot of lounging and a a lot of moving. Friday night we hung out as a family of four and ordered take-out from Outback. Our favorite. On Saturday I let Shawn sleep in and we headed to the gym. Megan loves Kid Fit class so we made it just in time for her to participate. I was able to get three and a half miles in the the treadmill.

When we got home Megan spent the rest of the day with a couple of the neighborhood girls. We are blessed to live in an awesome neighborhood full of little kids. It is not uncommon in the summer to have fifteen kids ages two to eight in our back park. I love the kids and I adore their moms. We are all different but have similar values which makes it a great community.

After a day of playing the girls, of course, scammed me into hosting a sleepover. It was impromptu and so much fun. I made cupcakes and let the girls (and Tyler) decorate them. They had a blast.

20140121-093225.jpg
Then it was play play play the rest of the night. At 10:30 I forced them into bed and they giggled for an hour. So sweet. By midnight they were done.

20140121-093330.jpg
In the morning we had time for quick manicures before the ladies went home and we got dressed and headed to church.

20140121-093419.jpg
Later that day we headed to the “big gym” and the kids played while we worked out. When we were leaving we realized the rock wall was open. After signing my life away the kids gave it a try.

20140121-093529.jpg
Needlesstosay, they loved it. We all be back…especially because it is free! Gotta love free activities at the good old YMCA.
Also, the kids were exhausted when we got home and promptly went to bed at 6:00 and did not make a peep all night. Shawn was working so I felt like I was on vacation…I watched HGTV without interruption, ate a bowl of ice cream, and enjoyed the calm.

Yesterday we were back at the gym in the morning and I was able to participate in Muscle Max which I love. I have not been able to get to a class since the summer so it felt good to be back. Boy, am I sore this morning.
In the afternoon we did another fun free activity.

20140121-093925.jpg
Swimming for the win!

Today we are going to relax. I probably will not go anywhere since Megan is a little under the weather.

What activities does your family do to cure cabin fever?

Leave a Reply

