Thoughts on a Thursday

Today would have been my Grandma’s 103 birthday. She was born in 1911 and made such an impact on my life. I cannot walk by a deck of cards without thinking about her. She lost her husband young (just like my mom) and somehow found a way to live and love life with such a zest that people were drawn to her. I only wish she had lived to see my get married…she would have loved Shawn.

I made a decision a couple of weeks ago to join Caitlyn over at healthytippingpoint.com in her “Ironman March” challenge. Her blog might be one of my favorites out there. She seems real and down to earth. I like real.

Anyway, she had the same challenge last year but I did not participate. Basically, you take the whole month of March to complete what triathletes do in a day. At the end of the month you should complete 26.2 miles of running, 112 miles on the bike, and 2.4 miles of swimming.

Now I am not a runner, so I will be completing the 26.2 miles at a fast walk/jogging pace, but other than that I am setting myself up to complete it…and I will be six months pregnant at the conclusion. I really wanted to do something that would push me (safely) to keep myself fit and in shape. I feel so much better and healthier when I am working out, but sometimes I fall into a rut and get so bored. This will keep me on my toes and it is very manageable. Really, it is about 6 miles of running a week, 25 miles of biking, and about 42 laps (in a 25 yard pool) weekly. Not too bad. The swimming is going to be the hardest because it is not very convenient, but I am going to work it in…or have a lot of swimming to do at the end of the month.

Something you might not know…an old friend of mine, Meredith Brooke Keeran Kessler just won her third (THIRD!) Ironman New Zealand last week! Crazy. She is a major inspiration to me. When she was in her early twenties I just knew she would be a professional athlete someday. I am so proud to know her and have known her growing up! She is not just an amazing athlete, but one of the most generous, loving, awesome people I have ever known.

Oh, and just for fun…we had another snow day this week. This can only mean one thing…more cute pictures of my kids in the snow.

20140306-202426.jpg

20140306-202434.jpg

20140306-202446.jpg

Leave a Reply

