Ironman March Week #1

My first week of the Ironman March challenge went swimmingly well (pun intended!). It was such a refreshing way to look at my work-outs for the week. I am normally pretty boring when it comes to exercise. I get on the treadmill, watch my newest show on Netflix (“House of Cards” at this moment) rinse and repeat. When school is out I like to do classes like Muscle Max and Cardio Fitness but when school is in session it is difficult for me to make it to those.

This challenge was actually a challenge for me. Fitness-wise, I know I can swim and ride a bike, but it definitely took me out of my comfort zone to do those work-outs. The swim was especially difficult for me to fit into my schedule (the gym with the indoor pool is about 20 minutes from home, the quick gym is about 2 minutes) but I did it and once I was in the water it felt great. I was a competitive swimmer growing up so it was cool to get back into the water for fitness. I only needed to swim 952 yards to keep up with the week but I went ahead and swam 1250 and probably could have gone longer if I didn’t know in the back of my head that the kids were in childcare and wanted to swim as well. My arms were killing me that night…in a good way.

The bike was not fun. I must admit. It was uncomfortable and boring and I really hated every minute of it. And, of course, I have to do a ton more biking this month. Maybe if I was outside in nice weather and a regular bike it would be better. I might try that before the month is over.

So, here are the details:

Saturday: 11 miles (bike), 2.2 miles (walk/jog)
Sunday: off
Monday: 2 miles (bike), 3 miles (walk/jog)
Tuesday: off
Wednesday: 3 miles (walk/jog)
Thursday: 12.3 miles (bike), 1 mile (walk/jog)
Friday: 1250 yard (swim)

Not bad. Not bad at all. I am proud of myself.

One thought on “Ironman March Week #1

Leave a Reply

