Into It and Over It

Have you watched “The Kitchen”?
It is a new show on Saturday mornings on Food TV and I am really loving it. I guess it is sort of similar to “The Chew” on ABC but it is only once a week which is manageable for me. The hosts are Sunny Anderson, Katie Lee, Jeff Mauro, Marcela Valladolid and Geoffrey Zakarian. I love Katie Lee when she used to host “Top Chef” so I am glad to see her on this show. I also have always enjoyed “The Sandwich King” Jeff Mauro. The rest of the crew is great too. It is set on my DVR and I usually watch it on Sunday morning when everyone else in my house is asleep (or when I have insomnia) before we have to get ready for church.

Anyway, they have a segment every week which I love called “Into it and Over it” where they talk about trends that they really like (into it) or that they are over (over it). I think this is a fun concept, so I thought I would try it myself. These are not really kitchen trends but just things in general.

Without further ado, here are my picks for right now, today:

Into it:
•Buttercream icing. I love it. I would eat icing over cake any day of the week…however, it is an Opera Cream Cake I could eat it all and all the time.
•Generosity with words. I love a nice thank you note or a hand written sentiment. I do not think e-mailing or texting will ever replace good old fashioned notes.
•Exercise. I have really been into exercising this month. I think it has a lot to do with the Ironman March goals (which are about to be completed this weekend!!!). I also think I just feel better when I move.
Over it:
•People who do not pull their weight. It is annoying to me, especially in the workplace, that people cannot or will not share in the load and responsibility. I am tired of covering for people. Completely over it.
•Leggings as pants. If you do not cover your butt with the shirt you are wearing, then you should not be wearing leggings.
•Bloggers who claim they work when they are really a stay-at-home mom. Own it. You do not work. You have the hardest job in the world (raising kids). You do not need to justify your decision to stay at home.

Have a great weekend! I am hoping to relax a bit.

Leave a Reply

