Mother’s Day Weekend

I am finally feeling (almost) back to normal. It was a terrible week that I would never in a million years want to re-live. The good thing is, I am at about 75% which I will take as a win.

This was a glorious weekend. On Thursday night, Shawn and I decided that we were going to try and sit down to a family dinner on the nights he is not working. Growing up we always sat at the table for dinner and I look on those memories very fondly. It was a time for our family to decompress and talk about the day. I want that same tradition in my own family. Megan was not pleased because it meant our neighbor had to go home for dinner (this needs a blog post all on its own) but once we sat down she was fine. The food was nothing special (hot dogs, mac and cheese and veggies) but it was perfect for us. We finished the night with ice cream What could be better?

I am constantly reminding myself that it is the everyday memories of childhood that I cherish the most and that I want my kids to have. I want them to know that they were loved and cared for and, especially, listened to and heard.

On Saturday I spent the morning reading seek and find books with Megan and Tyler. Man, do they love these books. They love racing to see who finds the object first and I think most of all they just love cuddling up on the couch. Around 10 I left for Columbus to pick my mom up for Beth’s baby shower. It was such a neat shower not only because it celebrated Beth but also because it was mostly moms and daughters on Mother’s Day weekend. I thought that was a clever and lovely idea.

20140514-170011.jpg

20140514-170025.jpg
Sunday I showered my mom with lots of love in the morning. We went to her church and she loves showing off those grandchildren, so she was in Heaven. We went to a beautiful brunch at the Hilton at Easton…this is something we used to do every Mother’s Day when my dad was living but we have just stopped doing. I wanted to bring this tradition back. It is overpriced but beautiful and a very elegant way to spend the morning. We loved it and Megan and Tyler were so awesome. I was so proud of them because normally they are not very refined in restaurants, but they definitely rose to the occasion.
We ended the morning at the American Girl and Lego stores which the kids loved.

20140514-170118.jpg

20140514-170126.jpg

20140514-170141.jpg
After saying goodbye to Grammy, we headed back to Cincinnati to celebrate Shawn’s mom. Because it was a working weekend for Shawn we were only able to see each other for a little bit of time. The kids showered me with love and, per tradition, gave me gifts they picked out themselves…so I received two pairs of frog goggles for the pool and a doggy sprinkler for the backyard. Too cute.

20140514-170213.jpg

Leave a Reply

