On Being Busy and Pregnant

I have been asked more than once in the last couple of weeks why I don’t just slow down and take care of myself in these last weeks of pregnancy. I know people mean well when they say it…they are not being nasty or trying to bring me down, I think they are legitimately worried. But, here’s the thing…I don’t want to slow down, I don’t want to let life pass me by while I sit in a chair and rest, and I certainly don’t want my kids to experience things without me.

20140528-211339.jpg
When I became a mom (almost 5 years ago, I can’t believe it!) I remember holding Megan for hours and thinking of all the fun things we were going to do. It started with walks around the neighborhood and then bringing her to every function we had and now it has turned into experience life with her and now Tyler and of course in the next month we will add another Richardson to the mix. The thing is, I love me some alone time, but I love being with my kids more. I could use the excuse “I’m 9 months pregnant, go without me” but I don’t want to. I want to see their little faces (in person) when they ride their first water slide. I want to hold their hands as they are experiencing something a little bit scary. I want to live in the moment with my family. I mean, isn’t that why we have kids?

20140528-211413.jpg

20140528-211421.jpg
So until the contractions start, I will continue to live life per usual. If I get tired or need a break I will take the time to rest and relax. But, if I am feeling good, I will enjoy all the joys of the beginning of summer. And, even after the baby is born, don’t expect me to sit home for 6 weeks…I have places to go and people to see…I hope we can even fit in a short vacation in August…just the 5 of us.

I can appreciate all the worry that comes with pregnancy, but with this one I am not taking life for granted. I am enjoying every kick inside my belly while still embracing my outside babies who need me and want me to participate in their lives.

20140528-211502.jpg

Leave a Reply

