Why Yes, I Did Have a Baby!

Last time I posted I had said that I would follow with a birth announcement. I am pleased that sit has only taken me a week to sit down and write this all out. At my last appointment on Monday, June 16 the doctor did a quick assessment and it was then decided that I needed an eviction notice. The baby was feeling huge, my fluid levels were consistent with gestational diabetes and it was difficult to walk. June 19 would be the date unless I went into natural labor on my own between then.

So, I did what any hugely pregnant person would do…I planned a last hurrah to Soak City with my family of four!

20140627-120821.jpg

20140627-120832.jpg

20140627-120842.jpg

By Wednesday I was feeling ready to go…cramping, uncomfortable, irritable, hormonal, everything consistent with labor being eminent. We went to dinner with my mom and the kids and I got all my last minute things ready go for an early hospital visit in the morning.

20140627-121039.jpgMy last pregnant selfie!

We arrived at the hospital around 5:45 am and the check-in process went smoothly. By 6 am I was in a room and everything began to move. There was a bit of an issue with the fluid levels being so high that they could not detect if the baby’s head was down so I had one more ultrasound to assure baby was ready. After the IV was placed and monitors were set I was given Pitocin around 8am.

20140627-121408.jpgLooking ready to have a baby

I sent Shawn down to the cafe for breakfast and no sooner did he leave that my water broke naturally. Now, when I say my water broke please imagine enough water to fill a baby pool easily. I have never in my life felt anything like it and the water kept coming and coming and coming until I delivered. I kept saying it was a jacuzzi up in there!

Everything went well throughout the morning and my mom and Shawn’s mom and the kids came in around 12:30. At the at point I had had the epidural and was feeling pretty good. I was checked right before they came in and I was 5cm dilated and 80% effaced. So, I sent the family to lunch. I figured I had at least 4 hours.

20 minutes later I was feeling such extreme pressure that I called the nurse for another check. Sure enough, I was 10 cm and fully ready. She called the doctor. I called Shawn. It was show time.

Ryan Robert was born at 1:50 pm. He was beautiful. Love at first sight. I couldn’t stop crying. It really was a lovely birth. Ryan is a big boy…10 pound 15 ounces, 23.5 inches long.

20140627-122604.jpg

Lots of drama ensured and Ryan spent the night in the Special Care Nursery, but things are fine now and we think he is just perfect!

20140627-123545.jpg

I am feeling good and hope to be back ith a first week update soon.

One thought on “Why Yes, I Did Have a Baby!

Leave a Reply

