One Month After Baby

Last summer I started to really make fitness a priority in my life. I committed to my gym and was a regular there, sometimes twice a day. I developed some short term and long term fitness goals for myself and was moving in the right direction, a direction that I had not been able to focus on for many years.

When I found out I was pregnant in early October I decided that this pregnancy would be different then the prior two. I really wanted to be in great shape when I delivered the baby. I stayed very committed to exercise and eating right. Through the first trimester I was even continuing two a day workouts. I felt fabulous (well, besides morning sickness). Up until the end of March, around my 27th week, I was feeling amazing. I even entered (and won!) Caitlin’s “Ironman March” challenge. Even though I was pregnant I felt like I was in the best shape I had been in for as long as I can remember.

Entering trimester three was really when my energy was zapped. I am not sure if it was because I was carrying an XL baby, or tons of extra fluid, or maybe it was just the stress of the end of the school year, but my fitness came to a screeching halt. I was just super tired and really did not have the energy t make it thought the day let alone head to the gym for a workout.

Now, about 4 months later, I am feeling like it is time to get back to getting to it. I am four weeks post pardum and I feel pretty much healed and am gaining energy daily. I had a relatively easy delivery with Ryan and I am attributing a lot of it to being in good shape. I had a ton of energy during the birth and felt super strong while pushing. I had very little tearing compared to the level 4 tears I had with Tyler. I am not ready to start any crazy exercise program until I see the doctor in two weeks, but slowly but surely I have been walking in my neighborhood, on the trails around my house, and I even went to the gym a couple of times.

One thing that has returned with a vengeance that I am not happy with is my appetite. I am starving ALL THE TIME!!!! I know breast feeding has a lot to do with it, but I have no self control. None. So, today I headed to Kroger and stocked up on some really healthy choices of foods and I am hoping to try and track my calories, not necessarily to diet, but to keep myself accountable to something. I simply cannot keep snacking all day long and feel good about myself.

It is not just that I want to be healthy and lose weight but I have to be healthy and lose weight…not just for myself but for my family. I not only want to be a great example to my kids but I want to be able to run with them and go on rides with them and be there for them.

I am going to try and commit to well day by day week by week. I will keep the blog posted with update son my progress. Like I said, nothing crazy because, after all, I did just have a baby. But, little by little I am going to be making big changes in my health and fitness over the next year.

Two pictures before I go, one crop, the morning before I gave birth and the other a week later. I love looking a these because I never realized my belly was so big!!!!

BEFORE(inside baby):
20140721-162049.jpg
AFER(outside baby):

20140721-162306.jpg

Leave a Reply

