Back to School

I know I said I was going away for a while, but yesterday I was searching through past posts to look at Megan from last year and I just couldn’t help but be thrilled to see that I have so much of the last two years documented in this blog. I have to realize that this blog is not something I have to do but something that I WANT to do to keep and preserve family memories.
So yesterday and today this happened…

20140910-070903.jpg
Yes, I now have two children in school. Part-time school, but still school. This is Megan’s second and final year at POP school before she moves on to full day Kindergarten at St. Columban School next fall. I am both happy and sad about this. I know it is so cliché, but where does the time go? It feels like just yesterday she was Ryan’s size and I was so stressed out as a new mother going back to work. She was such a blessing in my life and still is. I am proud that she is so kind, and compassionate. She cares for others deeply and I hope she always wants to make the world a better place to live in.

And Tyler, he has grown up so much too. When I look at him, he is still my baby, but I know with each passing day he is becoming more independent. He had a good day today. A few tears in the beginning, but that was expected. He is such a tough little guy but sensitive at the same time. We sometimes refer to him as Jeckle and Hyde. He is as sweet as can be and loves to cuddle up with anyone who has a willing lap for him to sit on…but, when he is hungry or tied, watch out! He gets this crazy look and stars to yell and act terrible. I guess that is part of the growing process.
I will take the good and the bad with all of my kids. No one is perfect, and I am beginning to realize each of their limitations and work to make them feel good and loved and appreciated no matter what they are doing.
As for school, I think they are going to have an awesome year. I am looking forward to seeing Tyler socialize more and become more independent. He already loves playing t-ball and running around, it will be nice to see him sit still for a while and listen to instruction that way.
For Megan, I think this might be a major breakthrough academic year for her. She is like a little sponge and I know she is excited to learn new things. They went on a scavenger hunt today and she was so excited about it. Her teacher already sent home a paper to help us work on pencil grip. I know she will love being able to write.

20140910-071026.jpg

20140910-071035.jpg

20140910-071047.jpg

Now we are off to tennis and then back home for a little walk around the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

