The Before

I am not going to show before pictures right now because I feel like it will be much too depressing for me to handle.  I am actually horrified by how I look right at this moment.  It makes me feel sick and I am glad this is the last time I will have to see those numbers or look at a picture of myself like that.

The fact of the matter is that I have not taken very good care of my physical self since I had Ryan.  I can blame it on a lot of things; lack of sleep, insatiable appetite, whatnot.  But when it comes down to it, I ate a lot and I moved very little and I gained weight.  Like, a lot of weight.  And it wasn’t like I was small to begin with.  I gained weight on top of the weight I already needed to lose.

So, here I am, January 5th and starting a new phase of my life; “The Before” as I am lovingly referring to it.  It is a healthy phase which I chose me and my health over everything else in my life.  Of course I am going to take care of my kids and continue to be a wife and a friend, but I need to take control of my life and my fitness and my health.  I can do this for my kids and for my husband and for my friendships but I want and need to do this for me.

Short term goal:             Complete the January “Diet Bet” by losing 10+ pounds.

Medium term goal:          Lose 25 pounds by my 40th birthday (March 26th)

My long term goals will be assessed when I complete these first two goals.

I know I can do this.

I have lost weight before and been very successful at it.  I need to stick to a plan like it is my job and allow little or no movement in what I have planned.  I will incorporate foods that I love into the plan so I will not feel deprived.  I need to eat A LOT less than I have been eating in the last few months.  I need to drink A LOT more water than I am used to.  I need to MOVE everyday (10,000 steps is the short term goal on that).

I need to be better.

I will be better.

For myself.

Everyone else is secondary in this journey.  I need to improve myself so I can be better for everyone around me.  I know that may sound very selfish and it is!  I have not been selfish in a long time.  And I deserve it.  I really do.

Who wants to join me on this journey?

2 thoughts on “The Before

Leave a Reply

