On Sleep

With a newborn, I feel like all I ever talk about it sleep…How much sleep I am getting, how much sleep I am not getting, how much sleep I want to get, et al.

It really takes over my life.

It makes doing anything else so much more difficult.  I want to work out and eat healthy and be healthy…but the sleep factor is no joke.

Megan and Tyler are not good sleepers.

At five years old, Megan is finally sleeping through the night in her own bed on most days.  She was a horrible sleeper and napper as an infant and toddler.  She wanted to be held all the time and we held her all the time because she was our only one and we loved it.

When Tyler came along we had two babies under two years old so I was determined that he would be a good sleeper.  He napped in his bed, slept through the night from his first week of life and was over-all the picture perfect baby…Until we took his crib rail down and all hell broke loose.  He has not slept a full night in his bed since. Ugh.

I am trying my best to make Ryan into a great sleeper.  I am following all of the rules and I have even read a few books about the subject.  It is a work in progress and when he only wakes up once a night I am super excited.  I refuse to hold him while he sleeps and I am putting him in the bed drowsy by not asleep.  Our bedtime ritual does not change from night to night.  I am swaddling him.  I am feeding him plenty of food.  He has a lovey.  HOWEVER…he cries and cries and cries.  I cannot let him “cry it out” because he will cry forever.  I am terrible at it.

Last night I was so tired and I just couldn’t take it anymore.  When he woke up at one I gave him a little snack (20 minute nursing session) and then put him back down.  He started to cry and I closed the door and went back to bed and prayed.  He cried for 96 seconds (yes, I timed it) and then slept the rest of the night.

I am thrilled…but I realize this might not be a repeated thing.  I pray that it is, but I am realistic.  Very realistic.

Sleep is no joke…I can see why governments torture people with sleep deprivation.

By the way…my photos are not working, hence, no picture.
Annoying.

2 thoughts on “On Sleep

  1. My phone wacked out. Sorry about WL comment. Lol.
    Last night my baby slept through the night. Tonight he had a really long stretch until 3:15 but then stayed up until 4:25.

    Back to bed for my 6 am alarm. 😏

Leave a Reply

