Iced In

I have to tell you, I never really wanted to be a stay at home mom. As I have said many times before, I think I have the best job in the world and I really get to have the best of both worlds. I get to work with a lot of smart and interesting people who respect me and my work. I teach great kids and collaborate with a lot of neat parents. For three months of the year I stay at home and eventually my kids will all be at school with me.

IMG_1889Two days ago…a day we could actually go out!

Stay at home moms, I give you all the credit in the world! This week has really taught me how much I like to be on the go. Staying at home day in and day out trying to entertain the masses has been rough. It would be different if we had places to go or people to see or if the temperature wasn’t so FRIGID outside that we could go out, it would be different. But, seriously, enough is enough!

In the summer we have a schedule and we do ALL THE THINGS! But when it is -11 and you have an infant and two other kids that do not keep gloves on I just can’t justify doing anything.

IMG_1897 They greet Ryan every morning like this. Totally cute.

So here we are, Snow Day #4 and we are literally climbing the walls. We have done crafts and pretend play and play dough (which this neat freak thinks is sent directly from Hell) and painting and jewelry making and fort building and baking and cleaning and doing it all again.

IMG_5760 Dance party at 8 am. Anyone? Anyone?

I love my kids and I love being with them, however, have you ever heard the phrase, “absence makes the heart grow fonder?”

Yes it does.
Yes it does.

IMG_1906What doesn’t kill him will make him stronger.

If it warns up above zero we might take the kids to the indoor pool tonight. Sweet!

IMG_1909 8 months! How did that happen????

What are you doing to keep from getting the winter blues?

Leave a Reply

