Memory Keeper

This summer I am making a HUGE effort to put down electronics and actually read books. Before I had kids I read about a book a week for almost 10 years! It was crazy. Now, my goal for the summer was 5 books. I am happy to report that I have met my goal and will be exceeding it! Yay me.

I just finished The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. I know I read it many years ago but it is a book I recommend to everyone so I wanted to do my due diligence and read it again. Oh man, it did not disappoint! What a heartbreaking story about how a web of lies can tear a family apart in ways you could not even imagine.  So good. I couldn’t even put it down. If you haven’t read it, do yourself a favor and curl up on the couch ( or in a lounge chair at the pool) and get to it.

I also read Paper Towns. Funny story about this one. I bought the book when I was shopping at Kroger the other week and I actually didn’t even look at the title. I thought it was a new release by John Grisham and since I have always loved his books I knew I would enjoy it…Ha…to my great suprise, it was written by John Green, it is not a mystery/detective book, and it is about to become a major motion picture gearing towards teens.  Anyway, I thought it was great…very captivating, engaging, and I think it is going to be a great movie.

The other three books I read were The Happiness Project (it was alright), The Lifechanging Magic of Tiding Up (hated it), and I title that I can’t even remember at this moment (obviously, not great).

I am moving on today to Leap of Faith. I am hoping to use this book in my 8th grade Confirmation class this year, so I am praying it is a good one that will hold my attention and the attention of a bunch of 14 year olds. This will be a tall order, but the book has been recommended to me by many people.  So far so good.

In other news, we were in West Virginia over the weekend for a reunion and it was very nice. The kids had a great time running around in the country with cousins. I love family things and so does the hubby so it was a great weekend…oh, and Ryan slept in a hotel room!!! God bless his little heart, I was so proud!

I will sign off with a throw back picture from my baby shower for Megan…I can’t rbeleive she is starting kindergarten in a few short weeks !

  

Leave a Reply

